Fresh Hope Care’s annual Excellence Awards were celebrated at Oatlands House on Friday, November 8, 2019. Guests enjoyed canapes overlooking the golf course, followed by a delicious sit-down lunch and dessert. Seven employees and three volunteers were recognised for their invaluable service in going above and beyond the expected.

This year featured a change in the award names and structure. There were three Excellence Awards and each award was named after a significant and influential person in our history. Congratulations to Maureen Muir, Volunteer from Clelland Lodge who won the May Ashwood Award, Sue Martin, Registered Nurse from Borella House who won the Wyndham Jones Award, and Donna Carter, Village Manager from Henley Brae Retirement Village who won the Charles Cole Award.

Maureen was both shocked and delighted when her name was read out as the winner. She was nominated by her line manager who said, “Maureen always arrives with a friendly smile. She never misses a day and takes on extra at short notice. She treats everybody with dignity and respect. Maureen always puts others first and is a gem of a volunteer greatly admired by others.”

Garry Williams (Bunzl), Chris Powell (Chair of the Board), Sandy Jones (Bunzl), Maureen Muir (May Ashwood Winner), Lynn Bailey (Executive General Manager), Noelene O’Keefe (May Ashwood Finalist), and Debbie O’Neill (May Ashwood Finalist).

Sue was just as surprised, exclaiming that she couldn’t believe it, especially as she had also won a similar award six years ago. Her site manager nominated her and said, “Sue has demonstrated a commitment and passion for her work with Borella House residents. Often going well beyond her position description to ensure that residents get to appointments, and get essential items, such as eye glasses and dental prosthetics.”

Lynn Bailey (Executive General Manager), Andrew Ball (Executive Ministry Director), Sue Martin (Wyndham Jones Winner), Sue Manzini accepting on behalf of Melissa Pupovac (Wyndham Jones Finalist), Michael Brodnik accepting on behalf of Pujan Khatri (Wyndham Jones Finalist).

This is the first year that managers have been eligible to receive an award. After managing Henley Brae for almost 12 years, Donna became the first manager to receive an Excellence Award! She was very grateful and thanked the entire Retirement Living team. Donna was nominated by many of her residents, including one who said, “Donna is always there for you with a cheerful smile, together with her loving and caring nature. My husband was hospitalised for 8 weeks and I was totally exhausted caring 24/7 for him until Donna was informed. She stepped in to organise an emergency Carer for us, taking the pressure off me for which I am truly thankful.”

Stephanie Polley (Board Member), Donna Carter (Charles Cole Winner), Amanda Ackerley accepting on behalf of Joanne McAulay (Charles Cole Finalist), Roland Decena (Charles Cole Finalist), and Lynn Bailey (Executive General Manager).

The three Excellence Award winners each took home a well-deserved $3500 travel voucher!

This year, we also asked managers to nominate their long serving employees for a recognition award. The edibility requirement was that they needed have been with the organisation for 10 or more years and possess a consistent track record of outstanding service.

Congratulations to Megan Delaney, Business Support Officer from Coffs Haven Residential Care Service who took home the Long Service Recognition Award. Her manager nominated her and she said, ‘Megan is always kind, caring and respectful to everyone. At busy times, or if the roster is stretched, she will offer her assistance throughout the home. She is respected by everyone for her generous and willing attitude.”

Megan Delaney (Long Service Recognition Award Winner) and Richard Hanna (Board Member).

This year we had an impressive 61 nominations and all those nominated will be recognised and celebrated at local sites.

May Ashwood Award:
Maureen Muir, Clelland Lodge – Winner
Noelene O’Keefe, Magnolia Cottage – Finalist
Debbie O’Neill, Green Hills Residential Care Service – Finalist

Wyndham Jones Award:
Sue Martin, Borella House – Winner
Melissa Pupovac, McCauley Lodge – Finalist
Pujan Khatri, Alexander Campbell House – Finalist

Charles Cole
Donna Carter, Henley Brae Retirement Village – Winner
Joanne McAulay, The Glen Residential Care Service – Finalist
Roland Decena, Ashwood Residential Care Service – Finalist

Long Service Recognition Award:
Megan Delaney, Coffs Haven Residential Care Service – Winner

Thank you to everyone who attended the event and a special thank you to our sponsors for their support.